PM approves three names for CEC post



Prime Minister Imran Khan on Thursday recommended the names of Fazal Abbas, Babar Yaqoob and Arif Khan for the post of chief election commissioner (CEC).
The approval from the prime minister came on the last day of CEC Justice (retd) Sardar Muhammad Raza’s tenure and after opposition’s petition in the Supreme Court to intervene in the matter.
Earlier, Leader of the Opposition in National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif had recommended the names of Nasir Mahmood Khosa, Jalil Abbas Jilani and Akhlaq Ahmad Tarar for the post of CEC.
A meeting of parliamentary panel on Wednesday ended in a deadlock between the treasury and opposition benches over the appointment of ECP members with both sides sticking to their stance.—INP

Previous articleSpecial Court to announce verdict in Musharraf treason case on Dec 17
Next articleECP members’ appointment IHC gives govt, opposition 10 days to end deadlock