Pakistan routs New Zealand in fourth match to claim top ODI rankings


KARACHI – Pakistani skipper Babar Azam remained under the light as his magnificent ton pushed Men in Green to beat New Zealand by 102 runs, claiming the top ranking in one-day international rankings.

Kiwi skipper Tom Latham earlier won the toss and invited Pakistan to bat and the hosts continued piled, following suit of three matches, setting a huge total on the scoreboard.

Youngblood Usama Mir displayed A-game with the ball as he claimed four wickets to help his side out Kiwis for 232 in 43.4 overs. Another youngster Mohammad Wasim Jr also contributed, taking three scalps.

New Zealand captain Tom Latham resisted but could not take his claim a single game in five-match series. Mark Chapman made 46 including four boundaries and three maximums.

All-format captain Babar Azam smashed 10 boundaries on his way to top score for Men in Green with a 117-ball 107. Salman Ali Agha registered his second half-ton with exceptional performance.  He played a quick knock of 58 runs in just 46 deliveries with the help of four boundaries and two sixes. Iftikhar Ahmed’s 28 and Shaheen’s 23-run also helped contribute a big total.

For visitors, Matt Henry got three wickets whereas Ben Lister and Ish Sodhi got one scalp each.

Men in Green, after sealing the series 3-0, made some changes in the squad. Mohammad Nawaz got to rest for fourth game due to injury while Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Haris, Haris Rauf and Usama Mir replaced inform players Imam-ul-Haq, Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, and pacer Naseem Shah.

On the other hand, Kiwis made three changes as three players Adam Milne, Henry Shipley and Henry Nicholls rested for the day who were replaced by James Neesham, Ben Lister and Blair Tickner.

Pakistan Playing XI: Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Mohammad Haris, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Agha Salman, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf

New Zealand Playing XI: Tom Latham (captain), Mark Chapman, Cole McConchie, Matt Henry, James Neesham, Blair Tickner, Ben Lister, Tom Blundell, Daryl Mitchell, Ish Sodhi, Will Young