Pakistan extends travel ban to 9 more countries Tightens up protocols for 13 others

Staff Reporter

The National Command and Operation Centre on Monday reviewed the global Covid-19 situation amid the spread of the new variant Omicron and decided to place travel ban on nine more countries, mostly from Europe.

According to a statement from the NCOC, it revised and expanded Category C — a list of countries from which travel is banned, except under certain conditions.

Croatia, Hungary, Netherlands, Ukraine, Ireland, Slovenia, Vietnam, Poland and Zimbabwe are the countries that have been added to the list.

It is pertinent to mention here that travel to South Africa, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, Botswana and Namibia as well as Hong Kong was banned late last month.

Inbound travel from these countries has been banned, the NCOC statement said. It detailed the health protocols that need to be observed in case of essential travel, which require passengers to be fully vaccinated while all passengers, local or foreigners above the age of six years, must possess a negative polymerase chain reaction test report issued not more than 48 hours prior to boarding.

Previous articleHundreds attend mass funeral of 15 civilians killed by Indian forces
Next articleProperties valuation: Senate body asks for revoking of SRO