PakvSA – South Africa beat Pakistan by 6 wickets in second T20


LAHORE – South Africa on Saturday defeated Pakistan by six wickets in the second T20 match of the three-match series in Gaddafi Stadium Lahore.

The visiting team achieved the 145-run target in 16.2 overs, leveling the series 1-1. The final match of the series will be played on Sunday to decide the winner.

Earlier in the day, South Africa had won the toss and elected to field first.

Pakistan scored 144 runs at a loss of seven wickets in 20 overs. Mohammad Rizwan made 51 runs off 41 balls.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said that Rizwan is the first Pakistani wicketkeeper-batsman to make more than 50 scores in three consecutive T20I matches.

Faheem Ashraf scored unbeaten 30 from 12 balls to give a boost to Pakistan’s total runs after the middle order could not make proper contribution.

Babar Azam also remained failed to play captain innings as he was adjudged lbw on only five runs.

Pakistan beat Proteas by three runs in the first match. Wicket Keeper Batsman Muhammad Rizwan scored a magnificent hundred and took the title of first wicketkeeper-batsman who scored hundred in T20 match.

He is also the second wicket-keeper batsman in the world to score a 100 in all three formats of international cricket.

The 28-year old cricketer scored an unbeaten 104 off 64 deliveries in Lahore. His innings included 7 sixes, which is the highest by a Pakistani batsman in T20Is.

The previous record was with Mohammad Hafeez and Ahmed Shahzad, both of whom had smashed 6 sixes in an innings on different occasions.

The third match will be played tomorrow Sunday in the same place and at the same time.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Aamer Yamin, Amad Butt, Asif Ali, Danish Aziz, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Zafar Gohar, and Zahid Mehmood.

South Africa: Heinrich Klaasen (captain) Nandre Burger, Okuhle Cele, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, George Linde, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Ryan Rickleton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Pite van Biljon, Glenton Stuurman and Jacques Snyman.


Previous articleSenate polls – ECP extends date for submission of nomination papers
Next articleOxford University to test COVID-19 vaccine on children