NEPRA Chairman, award winners visit LUMS


The Chairman, National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (NEPRA), Tauseef H. Farooqi was recently invited to visit the LUMS campus in Lahore.

He was joined by representatives from seven NEPRA licensee organizations, which have done tremendous work towards social initiatives, particularly within the areas of renewable energy.

The aim of the meeting at LUMS was to discuss avenues of collaboration with the University.

The visiting organizations included K-Electric, Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission (PAEC),

Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA), Engro Energy, China Power Hub Generation Company (CPHGC), Karot Power and Kot Addu Power Company (KAPCO).

Farooqi and the other visitors were welcomed by the University’s senior leadership.

These included LUMS Provost, Dr. Tariq Jadoon, Associate Dean of Student Affairs, Dr. Bilal Ahsan Malik and Director of Advancement, Nuzhat Kamran. Alumni and students also participated in the session.

During the welcome address by Dr. Jadoon, he praised the CSR initiatives undertaken by Mr. Farooqi in the areas of education, health, environment, and others.

He congratulated Mr. Farooqi on setting up the CSR department at NEPRA in 2020 with a focus on Sustainable Development Goals.

He also shared how LUMS faculty experiment with innovative instructional and learning techniques and seek to create impact through cross-disciplinary research in the areas, water informatics, energy, linguistics, and economics among several others.

Previous articlePU awards PhD degrees to 5 scholars
Next articlePerformance management regime initiated