Mayor made Chairman SWMB under new LG Law



The 6th Coordination Committee (CC) constituted for Sindh and federal governments have made major decisions including establishment of combined effluent treatment plants, here at the Chief Minister House on Sunday.

The CC meeting was attended by Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah, Federal Minister for Planning, Development and Special Initiatives Asad Umar, Federal Minister for IT Syed Amin Ul Haque, Corps Commander Karachi Lt Gen Muhammad Saeed, Chief Secretary Mumtaz Ali Shah, Provincial Ministers Nasir Shah, Saeed Ghani, Karachi Administrator Murtaza Wahab, Federal Secretary P,D&SI Aziz Uqaili, Chairman P&D Hassan Naqvi, Secretary Transport Shariq Ahmed, Secretary Local Govt Najam Shah, Secretary MD Water Board Asadullah Khan, MD SSWMB Zubair Channa, MC Afzal Zaidi, PD KWISSP Salahuddin and others.

The decisions including combined effluent treatment plants and augmentation of K-IV to be carried out by the provincial government, the KPT, and other agencies to issue NOCs for Mauripur Expressway and ICI Interchange project and Rangers would vacate Malir Halt and Mousomiyat depts for launching BRT Red Line, said a communique.

The participants of the meeting discussed the matter at length and decided to reduce RoW to 20 feet in which a wall along the Gujjar and Orangi nullahs would be constructed within 2 feet and 2-lane road would be constructed on 18 feet for vehicular traffic.

The local government department giving update on PC-1 told the meeting that a comprehensive study on 41 KMC nullahs was carried out by NED University.

However, only 25 KMC nullahs were considered critical, which required immediate rehabilitation.


Previous articleNAB fails to decide about assets inquiry against Manzoor
Next articleCity’s Covid positivity reaches 15pc