Lanka Premier League 2021 Sri Lanka enhances security measures for Pakistani players


Following the brutal murder of a Sri Lankan na-tional in Sialkot, Pakistan, the Sri Lankan Cricket Board has decided to enhance the security protocol for Pakistani players and coaches who are partici-pating in the Lanka Premier League 2021 — Sri Lanka’s franchise T20 cricket league.

A total of nine Pakistani cricketers — including Mohammad Hafeez, Muhammad Umar, Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz, and Sohaib Maqsood — and several coaching staff are partaking in the tourna-ment.

Other players include Anwar Ali, Muhammad Irfan, Usman Shinwari, and Ahmed Shahzad.
The tournament is taking place in the Sri Lankan capital of Colombo and the town of Ham-bantota.

All the league stage matches will take place at Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, while the playoff games are scheduled to take place at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Ham-bantota.

It should be noted that the LPL 2021 kick-started in Colombo today (December 5, 2021) with a match between Galle Gladiators and Jaffna Kings. The tournament will end on December 23.—Agencies

Previous articleMichael Owen led venture teams up with PM Imran’s Kamyab Jawan programme to groom Pakistani football talent
Next articlePollard ruled out of Pakistan tour due to injury