IHC suspends ECP’s notice denotifying three PTI MNAs


The Islamabad High Court (IHC) stopped on Wednesday the Election Commission of Pakistan’s (ECP) from conducting by-election in the federal capital while suspending its order denotifying Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MNAs Asad Umar, Ali Nawaz Awan and Raja Khurram Shahzad Nawaz.

The three PTI leaders had filed a petition challenging the ECP’s notice, issued after the National Assembly (NA) Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf notified the electoral body of their resignation approval.

The NA speaker had accepted the en masse resignations of the PTI lawmakers following PTI Chairman Imran Khan’s ouster as the prime minister last year.
PTI lawmakers’ lawyer Ali Zafar appeared before the IHC at the outset of the hearing conducted by Justice Aamer Farooq.