Iftikhar Awan elected NHSP chairman

Staff Reporter

In pursuance of the constitution Annual General Meeting of National Horticultural Society of Pakistan held recently the following office-bearers and 15 members of Executive Council were elected for the term 2021-2023.

Malik Iftkhar Ahmed Awan was elected as Chair-man, Major Ikram ul Haq, Senior Vice Chairman, Ms Aasma Butt, Lady Vice Chair Person, Dr. Perveiz Ahsan, Vice Chairman, M.Tahir Nadeem, Secretary, Dr. Riaz Bukhari, Technical Secretary, Joint Secretary, Mr. Muhammed Aslam, Mirza Mu-hammed Younis, Finance Secretary and Publicity Secretary, Dr. Ghulam Rasul.

In the light of laid down objectives, the National Horticultural Society of Pakistan, arranges three flower shows.

Spring Flower Exhibition and Au-tumn Flower exhibition at Islamabad and Mid-summer Flower Exhibition at Murree.

All major departments, which includes CDA, CMH, KRL, Navy, PAF, SUPARCO, Floriculture Institute Rwp., Punjab House and Allama Iqbal University along with gardening enthusiasts of twin cities participates in these flower shows.

A number of prizes, like trophies, shields, and cash prizes are distributed among the winning staff of the participant departments for their encouragement.

Besides NHSP also arranges short courses and train-ing workshops for gardeners on various aspects of horticulture.

Society also publishes annual journal containing articles of re-known horticulturists on house plants, flowers, trees, kitchen gardening and landscape.

Previous articleGraana Azadi Ride to mark 75th Independence Day celebrations
Next articleBOI conducts first ever P ‘Khuli E- Kachehri’