Govt all set to shift 4 loss-making Discos to provinces


Staff Reporter


As the electricity distribution companies running huge losses for the federal government, it is being planned to get rid of four power distribution companies, it was learnt on Monday.
The Power Division has prepared a plan to hand over four Discos to the provinces.
Reportedly, the government has decided to hand over Hyderabad and Sukkur Electric Supply Company to Sindh government as yearly losses reached 28.82 percent and 38.69 percent.

On the other hand, Peshawar and Tribal Electric Supply Company will be handed over to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa as yearly losses reach 38.69 percent and 16.19 percent yearly.
Sources claimed Power Division has decided to take the matters in Council of Common Interests (CCI) as electricity theft, distribution and non-payment of bills are some of the issues with these Discos.

Previous articleIRSA releases 31,200 cusecs water
Next articleDebenhams shuts all stores, around 12,000 jobs lost