England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have announced the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup and the tour of Pakistan.

The selectors have decided to keep faith in the proven names with Ben Stokes, Mark Wood and Chris Woakes all finding a place in the team despite not playing a single minute of T20 cricket this year due to injuries or rotation policies.

The extended squad also includes three travelling reserves.

Jos Buttler will captain England in the World Cup but his participation in the Pakistan series is unlikely due to a nagging calf injury. In his absence, Moeen Ali will lead the side in Pakistan.

Liam Livingstone and Chris Jordan will also miss the Pakistan tour as they recover from ankle and finger injuries respectively while Tymal Mills, who is in the travelling reserves, will also miss out due to recent toe surgery.

Jason Roy has failed to make the squad after a series of underwhelming performances with the bat.

England T20 World Cup squad

Jos Buttler (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Travelling Reserves: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills

England Squad for Pakistan Series:

Jos Buttler (Captain), Moeen Ali (Vice-Captain), Harry Brook, Jordan Cox
Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, Mark Wood.

Previous article‘Pakistan’s international debt should be immediately cancelled’: UK MP
Next articlePakistan floods: Armed forces rescue 2,000 stranded by catastrophic floods