Coronavirus restrictions in Punjab extended till May 17

Staff Reporter

The Punjab government extended coronavirus restriction till May 17 in the wake of rising cases.

According to a notification issued by the Punjab Primary and Secondary Healthcare department in light of the Cabinet Committee on Corona recommendations, the restrictions imposed in the province will remain in effect till May 17.

Commercial Activities: All commercial activities, establishments and areas throughout the province of Punjab shall be closed by 6:00 PM on weekdays and shall remain completely closed on weekends i.e., Saturday & Sunday (Friday & Saturday in 30 notified districts) except the following: All Medical Services & Pharmacies / Medical Stores, Bakeries, General / Karyana Stores, Milk / Meat / Fish / Chicken Shops, Tire puncture shops, Fruit & Vegetable shops, Tandoor, Atta chakkies, Postal / Courier services, Driver hotels, Petrol pumps, Oil I depots, LPG outlets & filling plants, Agriculture machinery workshops and spare parts/batteries shops, Printing press, Tailor / a week) Barbershops, Call centres (with 50% staff and no public dealing), Takeaway / Home Delivery from restaurants, Cellular companies & franchises and Money exchange companies will remain open 24 hours seven days a week.

Weddings / Functions: There shall be a complete ban on indoor weddings throughout the province and all types of Marriage Halls, Community Centers, Marquees and Event Halls shall remain closed.

Amusement Parks: Amusement parks throughout the province shall remain closed.
Mask Wearing: All Citizens shall use face-covering in public spaces throughout the province.

50% Work from Home & Office timings: All Public / Private offices and establishments throughout the province shall operate from 9:00 AM till 2:00 PM and follow the policy of Work from home for 50% of their staff.

Cinemas: All Cinemas / Theatres shall remain closed throughout the province. Shrines:
All Shrines / Mazaars shall remain closed in Bahawalpur, Bhakkar, Dera Ghazi Khan, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Mang, Kasur, Lahore, Multan, Okara, Rawalpindi, Rahim Yar Khan, Sargodha and Sheikhupura, being cities with positivity ratio higher than 8%.

Large Gatherings: There shall be a complete ban on all types of indoor and outdoor gatherings throughout the province.

Sports, Festivals, Cultural and other events: There shall be a complete ban on sports, festivals, cultural, social and other events throughout the province.

Intercity public transport: All types of intercity public transport shall operate at 50% of total capacity. Rail service: Rail service shall operate at 70% of capacity.

Inter provincial public transport: All types of inter provincial public transport shall remain closed for two days (Saturday & Sunday) except Goods/freight, medical and other emergency services.

Industrial and Agricultural activities and establishments shall remain exempt from the operation of this order.

District administration and Police shall work in close liaison to ensure strict implementation of this order.


Previous articleCorona positivity rising alarmingly: Dr Yasmin
Next articleKite-string claims another life in City