Committee lauds ministry for including advocacy of Climate Finance, loss and damages in conference


The Standing Committee lauded the efforts of the Ministry of Climate Change, Government of Pakistan for including the advocacy of Climate Finance, loss & damages and adaptation to bring on the agenda of Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP 27) for the first time.

Ministry of Climate Change shared their scheduled which includes Prime Minister’s Speech, Joint Chairing of round table with Prime Minister for Norway, bilateral engagements at ministerial level, negotiation on eight dedicated streams, side events by Pakistani delegation and Civil Society Members. 31st meeting of the Standing Committee on Climate Change held on Friday in the Parliament House Islamabad under the Chairpersonship of Ms. Nuzhat Pathan, MNA.

Secretary, Ministry of Climate Change gave comprehensive briefing on the upcoming 27th Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP 27).

He apprised the Committee about the stance of Ministry of Climate Change on the issue of adaptation mechanism during the Conference. He also informed that Pakistan is in the front line of the advocacy of the Climate Finance Issues along-with other developing Countries. He said that unprecedented Climate-induced disaster in Pakistan hitting 84 Districts across the Country.

The World Bank has estimated Pakistan’s flood losses around $40 Billion. Pakistan will emphasize on seeking $100 Billion as promised in 2009. Pakistan will be suggesting to develop Transparency mechanism for defining Climate Finance needs. At the end, the Committee decided to hold its next meeting on 29th November, 2022 at Gawadar to witness the marine pollution and waste management at sea site.

The Committee deferred “The Pakistan Trade Control of Wild Fuana and Flora (Amendment) Bill, 2022” (Govt. Bill) and “The Environmental Protection (Amendment) Bill, 2021 (moved by Mr. Ali Gohar Khan, MNA) due to non-presence of its mover. The Committee also deferred the Question No. 146 (moved by Ms. Nuzhat Pathan, MNA) and Question No. 117 (moved by Ms. Tahira Aurangzeb, MNA) till its next meeting.

Besides, the Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Ms. Naaz Baloch, MNA, the following MNAs; Mr. Kesoo Mal Kheeal Das, Ms. Shakila Luqman, Ms. Romina Khurshid Alam, Mr. Zulfiqar Bashani, Ms. Shahida Rehmani, Mr. Afreen Khan, Engr. Sabir Hussain Kaim Khani. and the Senior officers of Ministry of Climate Change and its attached Departments/Organizations attended the meeting.


Previous articleBank fraud case: Court sends anchorperson Ghulam Hussain to jail
Next articleATC extends bails to Asad , Faisal