By-polls for 33 NA seats to be held on March 16


Candidates can file nomination papers with RO from Feb 6-8

The Election Commission of Pakistan on Friday announced by-elections on March 16 for 33 National Assembly seats.

The seats were vacated after NA Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf swiftly moved to accept the resignations of PTI lawmakers and AML chief Sheikh Rashid, pending since April 2022.

According to a notification issued by the electoral watchdog, the by-polls will be held in NA-04 Swat-III, NA-17 Haripur-I, NA-18 Swabi-I, NA-25 Nowshera-I, NA-26 Nowshera-II, NA-32 Kohat, NA-38 D I Khan-I, NA-43 Khyber-I, NA-52 Islamabad-I, NA-53 Islamabad-II, NA-54 Islamabad-III, NA-57 Rawalpindi-I, NA-59 Rawalpindi-III, NA-60 Rawalpindi-IV, NA-62 Rawalpindi-VI, NA-63 Rawalpindi-VII, NA-67 Jhelum-II, NA-97 Bhakkar-I, NA-126 Lahore-IV, NA-130 Lahore-VIII, NA-155 Multan-II, NA-156 Multan-III, NA-191 Dera Ghazi Khan-III, NA-241 Korangi Karachi-III, NA-242 Karachi East-I, NA-243 Karachi East-II, NA-244 Karachi East-III, NA-247 Karachi South-II, NA-250 Karachi West-III, NA-252 Karachi West-V, NA-254 Karachi Central-II, NA-256 Karachi Central-IV, and NA-265 Quetta-II constituencies.

The notification said that the returning officers would issue a public notice in this regard on Feb 3. Candidates can file their nomination papers with the RO from Feb 6-8.

The names of the nominated candidates will be published on Feb 9, the electoral watchdog added.