APHC-AJK pays tributes to Maqbool Butt, Afzal Guru on martyrdom anniversaries


The All Parties Hurriyat Conference Azad Jammu and Kashmir (APHC-AJK) chapter organized a seminar at its office in Islamabad, today, to remember prominent martyred liberation leaders, Muhammad Maqbool Butt and Muhammad Afzal Guru on their martyrdom anniversaries.

India had hanged Muhammad Maqbool Butt on 11th February in 1984 in New Delhi’s Tihar Jail and sent Muhammad Afzal Guru to the gallows in the same jail on February 9 in 2013 for their role in Kashmir freedom movement. The two leaders were buried in the premises of the jail.

Addressing the seminar presided over by the APHC-AJK Convener, Mehmood Ahmed Saghar, the speakers said the spirit of freedom of Kashmiris can never be suppressed through executions, illegal detentions and other tactics by India in Indian illegally occupied Jammu and Kashmir.

Paying homage to Muhammad Maqbool Butt and Muhammad Afzal Guru, they reiterated the Kashmiris’ determination to accomplish the mission of their martyrs at all costs. They said the martyrs are the true heroes of Kashmiris and a great asset of the ongoing freedom movement. The execution of Muhammad Maqbool Butt and Muhammad Afzal Guru was the murder of justice, they added.

The speakers said the people of Kashmir are struggling for a just cause, for which they have been giving unprecedented sacrifices for seven decades. They urged India to read writing on the wall and accept the reality of the freedom struggle of Kashmiris. They also called upon the justice-loving people and organizations of the world to compel India to hand over the bodies of Maqbool Butt and Afzal Guru to their families for proper burial.

The speakers included Mehmood Ahmed Saghar, Ghulam Muhammad Safi, Muhammad Farooq Rehmani, Syed Yousuf Naseem, Mir Tahir Masood, Muhammad Hussain Khateeb, Chaudhry Shaheen Iqbal, Sheikh Abdul Mateen, Altaf Hussain Wani, Hassan Bana, Saleem Haroon, Sanaullah Dar, Raja Kafeel and Sadaqat Abbasi.

Syed Faiz Naqshbandi, Sheikh Muhammad Yaqoob, Syed Ejaz Rahmani, Haji Sultan Butt, Advocate Parvez Ahmed, Sheikh Abdul Majid, Gulshan Ahmed, Manzoor Ahmed Dar, Zahid Safi, Abdul Majeed Lone, Zahid Ashraf, Raja Khadim Hussain, Ashfaq Ahmad.—INP