After presidential nod, Justice Aamer Farooq to take oath as new IHC Chief Justice


Three additional judges of IHC also confirmed by Judicial Commission of Pakistan

Zubair Qureshi

President Dr Arif Alvi has given a go-ahead to the recommendations of the Parliamentary Committee for appointment of the puisne (senior most) judge of the Islamabad High Court (IHC) Jusitce Aamer Farooq as Chief Justice of the IHC. Justice Aamer is likely to take oath of office on Thursday (today) as the new head of the IHC. President Alvi will administer oath to Justice Aamer Farooq.

The seat had fallen vacant after the incumbent Chief Justice of the IHC Athar Minallah was elevated by the Judicial Commission of Pakistan (JCP) as judge of the Supreme Court.

Headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Umar Ata Bandial, the JCP in its meeting on Oct 24, in addition to a unanimous approval of Justice Minallah, had also approved the candidature of Justice Shahid Waheed of the Lahore High Court (LHC) and Justice Syed Hasan Azhar Rizvi of the Sindh High Court (SHC) for the SC with a majority of five to four — both fourth on the seniority list of their respective courts. The commission, however, rejected the nomination of the SHC’s Justice Mohammad Shafi Siddiqui in the same meeting.

Later, the Parliamentary Committee headed by Senator Farooq H Naek discussed the JCP’s recommendations and approved the names and sent them forward to the Aiwan-e-Sadr for formal appointment. The committee in a subsequent meeting also examined the approval of Justice Farooq as the IHC chief justice.

The Judicial Commission of Pakistan (JCP) on Tuesday recommended the confirmation of three additional judges of the Islamabad High Court (IHC). It may be mentioned here that the JCP on appointment of judges in the superior courts after examining the performance of three additional judges of IHC approved their confirmation. The judges who have been confirmed include Justice Sardar Ijaz Ishaq, Justice Arbab Tahir and Justice Saman Riffat.



Previous articleCDA conducts grand anti encroachment operations
Next articleSC adjourns case against Vawda’s disqualification