Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced the squad that will take on Pakistan in a three-match T20 international series in Sharjah.

The ACB has decided to include some newer faces with one eye on the 2024 T20 cricket world cup.

Left-handed opener Sediqullah Atal has made the team as a result and will likely debut during the series as well.

Meanwhile, ACB has decided to recall former captain Mohammad Nabi, who last played for Afghanistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia to add much-needed experience against the T20 specialists Pakistan.

Rahmat Shah and Hazratullah Zazai have been dropped from the squad which features several players who recently participated in the Pakistan Super League season 8.

Fazal Haq Farooqi, Naveen Ul Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Hazratullah Omarzai, Rahmaullah Gurbaz and Rashid Khan all suited up for PSL franchises.

Rashid Khan will continue to lead the side.

Pakistan has already announced their squad for the three-match series which features new-look players as well.

Afghanistan Squad for Pakistan series:

Rashid Khan (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ibrahim Zadran, Usman Ghani, Sediqullah Atal, Najibullah Zadran, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Gulbadin Naib, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Fareed Ahmad, Fazal Haq Farooqi and Naveen Ul Haq.

T20 Series Schedule:

24th March – 1st T20I, Sharjah Cricket Stadium, UAE

26th March – 2nd T20I, Sharjah Cricket Stadium, UAE

27th March – 3rd T20I, Sharjah Cricket Stadium, UAE