Recount ordered in PP-7 by-poll


The PTI on Monday challenged the result of the PP-7 Rawalpindi-II by-election, citing a delay in the result’s announcement and a very small difference between the winning candidate and the runner-up.

According to unofficial results, PML-N’s candidate Raja Sagheer won the by-poll on the Punjab Assembly seat with a thin margin of 49 votes while PTI’s Col (Retd) Shabbir Awan came in second.

The PTI’s candidate, Shabbir Awan, submitted an application to the returning officer, and requested a recount.

In the application, Awan said the winning PML-N candidate received 68,906 votes, while he secured 68,857 with the difference being of a mere 49 votes.

Previous articlePTCL posts 38.8% Profit Growth in H1 2022
Next articleSri Lanka imposes emergency in place