PTI-backed Sadiq Sanjrani beats PDM’s Yousaf Raza Gillani in Senate chairman race


ISLAMABAD – Sadiq Sanjrani, an independent senator for Balochistan, has been elected as Senate chairman for second consecutive time as he defeated PDM’s joint candidate Yousaf Raza Gillani on Friday.

Sadiq Sanjrani secured 48 votes while his rival Gillani managed to bag 49 votes but latter’s seven votes were rejected by the presiding officer due to wrong stamp mark on the ballot paper.

After rejection of votes, Gillani got 42 votes, losing crucial election to the ruling PTI.

Ninety eight members of the upper house of parliament cast their votes while Jamat e Islami’s senator Mushtaq Ahmad did not take part in the polling.

JUI-F senator Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri was the first to cast vote after the polling began in the Senate.

Meanwhile, Gillani’s polling agent Farooq H Naik has challenged the rejection of votes.

More to follow…


Previous articleI was harassed by an Uber driver for two years: Jemima Goldsmith
Next articleCOVID-19: Punjab imposes smart lockdown in six districts including Lahore