President confers civil awards on 253 personalities


Investiture ceremony will take place on March 23

President Dr Arif Alvi conferred Pakistan civil awards on 253 Pakistani citizens as well as foreign nationals on the occasion of 75th diamond jubilee anniversary of the country.

The citizens were bestowed with awards for showing excellence and courage in different fields. The investiture ceremony of these awards will take place on Pakistan Day, March 23, 2023.

The prominent personalities among those who received the awards included Sartaj Aziz, late Hasil Bizenjo, late Chaudhry Ghulam Abbas, late Justice (Retd) Bhagwandas, late Ghulam Ali Chagla and late Sufi Ghulam Tabassum for their services to Pakistan.

The list also included Muhammad Qavi Khan for performing arts, Jahangir Khan for squash, Amjad Islam Amjad for poetry, Ahmad Arif Nizami, Mujibur Rehman Shami and Altaf Hassan Qureshi for journalism, Bilquis Bano Edhi and Muhammad Chipa for social services and Sardar Ahmad Nawaz Sukhera for public services. Following are the personalities on whom the Pakistan civil awards were conferred:

Nishan-e-Imtiaz was given to Sartaj Aziz, Hasil Bazinjo, Raees-ul-Ahrar Ch. Ghulam Abbas Khan (Late), and Justice (R) Rana Bhagwan Das (Late) for public service.

Ahmed Ghulam Ali Chagla (late) for art and music/composing, Sufi Ghulam Mustafa Tabassum (late) for poetry, Muhammad Qavi Khan for performing arts, drama, film and stage, and Jahangir Khan for squash.

Hilal-e-Pakistan was awarded to Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, Sheikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan, HRH Prince Faisal bin Salman bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud, Engr Khalid bin Abdulaziz Al-Falih, H E Sheikh Mohammad bin Abdulrahman Al-Thani (Qatari) and Ambassador (R) Robin L Raphel for their exceptional services to Pakistan.

Hilal-e-Shujaat was awarded to Brig (R) Khalid Farid and Brig Faisal Naseer for gallantry in counter-terrorism.

Hilal-e-Imtiaz was given to Dr Khawaja Abdul Hayee (late) for education, Engr. Prof Ahmed Farooq Bazai for academic administration/education, Prof Dr Talat Naseer Pasha for science, engineering and education, Hakim Rizwan Hafeez for health, Dr Raja Ali Raza Anwar for engineering (nuclear), Raees Ahmed for violin, Amjad Islam Amjad for arts literature, Ahmad Arif Nizami (late) Mujib-ur-Rahman Shami and Altaf Hassan Qureshi for journalism.

It was also awarded to Bilquis Bano Edhi (late), Muhammad Ramzan Chhipa, Sardar Ahmad Nawaz Sukhera, Maroof Afzal (late), Senator Hilal-ur-Rehman and Senator Muhammad Talah Mahmood for their public services, and Dr Gohar Ejaz for philanthropy.

Hilal-e-Quaid-e-Azam was conferred upon Dr James M Shera for his services to Pakistan. Sitara-e-Pakistan was given to Lin Songtian, Khalid Mehmood, Cahit Yasar Eren and Raja Najabat Hussain.

Sitara-e-Shujaat was awarded to Malik Muhammad Hassan, Malik Gingray (late), Malik Shumail Khan, Ms Fizza Tariq Malik (late), Raja Mustafa Ali, Muhammad Afzal Shaikh and Sajid Kiani for gallantry whereas to Lt Col Shahid Rasool Choudhary and Wajahat Ullah Afridi for gallantry in counter-terrorism and to Mansoor Ahmad Khan for his services to Pakistan.

Sitara-e-Imtiaz was given to Prof Dr Asuman Belen Ozcan, Dr Muhammad Afzal Javed, Zafar Ullah Khan, Tang Meng Sheng, and Prof Kong Julan for their services. Prof Dr Engr Bhawani Shankar Chowdhry for engineering & education, Engr Javed Qureshi for agriculture, Dr Abdul Ghani Akram for physics, Ghafoor Ahmad and Dr Suleman Qaiser for chemical engineering, Mohsin Fayyaz for mechanical engineering, Dr Muhammad Aleem Mirza for electronics engineering and Dr Muhammad Bilal Malik for electrical engineering.

Dr Faiz-ul-Hassan for engineering systems, Asif Iqbal for navigations system, Humayun Khan (late) for agriculture garlic innovation, Asif Peer for information technology, Dr Saeed Akhtar for medicine, Dr Muhammad Sharif Malik, M D for medicine health, Prof Dr Muhammad Ali and Mahfooz-ur-Rehman for education.

Sitara-e-Imtiaz was also awarded to Tauqeer Ahmed Nasir for acting, Riaz Shahid (late) for film direction & writing, Fakhr-e-Alam for hosting, Hassan Ali Isfahani Alias Hassan Jahangir for playback singing, Saghar Siddiqui alias Muhammad Akhtar (late) for poetry, Aneeq Ahmed for anchoring, Syed Manzar Hasan alias Hasan Manzar, Dr Moeen ud Din Aqeel and Mrs Shama Khalid (late) for art literature, and Naseer Turabi (late) and Muhammad Shafi alias Shakir Shuja Abadi for literature.

Moreover, Chaudhry Shafay Hussain for Kabbadi, Babar Azam for Cricket, Ziauddin (late), Javed Choudhry, Nadeem Malik and Atta Ur Rehman (late) for their outstanding work in Journalism.

Dr Anees Ahmed, Maulana Muhammad Hanif Jalandhari, Dr Qibla Ayaz and Allama Saqib Raza Mustafai received it as religious scholars whereas, Abdul Rauf Rufi for Naat Khawani, Waqar Ahmed Malik, Murtaza Mehmood, Imdad ullah Bosal, Moin Ul Haq and Dr Mohammad Ashraf Tahir for public service and to Mirza Ishtiaq Baig for social services.

President’s Award for Pride of Performance was conferred upon Dr Mehboob Ali Sial Science for Agriculture, Abdul Majid Khan, Muhammad Azam Khan Science and Ch. Muhammad Yousaf Science for Chemistry, Zulfiqar Ahmed Khan Engineering for Nuclear, Naveed Ahmad for Metallurgy, Hafiz M. Noshad Ali Engineering and Muhammad Javed Siddique for Mechanical Engineering.

Previous articleProjects worth Rs13b to be inaugurated soon
Next articlePakistan pledges to keep pushing UN to free Kashmir from India’s yoke