PPP, PTI each take one seat of Chairman, Vice Chairman of UCs of HMC


The candidates of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) bagged one seat each of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the Union Committees of Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (HMC) on which the local government elections were held on March 26. According to the official results declared here on Monday, one of the seats of the general member ward also went to PTI and the other to an independent candidate.

The PPP’s Asfand Mari and Muhammad Jibran emerged successful on the seat of Chairman and Vice Chairman of Union Committee 28, receiving 1,130 votes. Shahzaib and Nooruddin of PTI followed at the second place with 859 votes while Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP’s) Fazal Ahmed Shaikh and Sajjad Haider were given 59 votes. The candidates of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) Muhammad Akhtar and Muhammad Nasir received just 12 votes.

Likewise, in the UC-35 PTI’s Naeem Sameeuddin and Muhammad Salman Khan secured a marginal victory obtaining 1,284 votes against 1,264 votes of PPP’s candidates Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah and Sanober Iqbal. The TLP’s Nafees Ahmed and Muhammad Qadafi Khan and MQM-P’s Syed Sheeraz Hassan and Asad Ali Shaikh were polled 198 and 16 votes, respectively. An independent candidate Ashraf Ahmed won the ward number 1 of UC-28, getting 380 votes.