Tom Latham will lead a new-look New Zealand T20I squad for their limited-over series against Pakistan in the coming month.

The left-hander will return to the format for the first time since 2021 after some of the regular starters decided to skip the Pakistan series to play the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Chad Bowes and Henry Shipley will be in contention to make their T20I debuts after making the squad along with several players returning to international T20 cricket on the back of proven track records in the international and domestic games.

The 15-member squad also sees the return of Cole McConchie and Rachin Ravindra for the first time since 2021.

“We saw against India earlier this season the power and range of shots that Tom possesses. His adaptability also means he can feature in a range of batting positions” New Zealand’s coach Gary Stead said of Latham.

“He led an inexperienced T20 squad to Bangladesh in 2021 and we were really impressed with his leadership of that group during a COVID bubble tour.”

The team will leave for Pakistan on April 9th with the first T20I scheduled for April 14th.

New Zealand Squad for Pakistan T20I series:

Tom Latham (c, wk), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Cole McConchie, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young