Hawks lift inaugural Kashmir Premier League title


Rawalakot Hawks won the first edition of Kashmir Premier after beating Muzaffarabad Tigers by seven runs at Muzaffarabad cricket Stadium on late Tuesday.

Asif Afridi held his nerves to successfully defend just 10 in the last over. Earlier, a scintillating half century by Kashif Ali helped Hawks post 169 on the board.

Tigers elected to ball first after winning the toss but failed to get early wickets as Hawks post 53 by 6.4 over. Mohammad Hafeez came up with a breakthrough, sending Umar Amin back on a LBW dismissal.

Usama Mir bowled Amin’s fellow opener Bismillah Khan without allowing to add a run that brought two fresh batsmen of Rawalakot Hawks at the crease. Hussain Talat also threw a catch to Anwar Ali on Mohammad Hafeez’s bowling in the 9th over.

Danish Aziz got out for just four while Sahibzada Farhan could score just just 28 off 21. Kashif Ali played a fantastic knock of 54 off 28 with 5 fours and 3 sixes while Mohammad Imran Randhawa tried to help his side with his unbeaten 17 off 12 balls.

Rawalakot Hawks reached 169 in 20 overs while Usama Mir and Mohammad Hafeez claimed two scalps each.

To chase 170 runs Muzaffarabad Tigers got off to a flying start as the team crossed 50 inside the first six overs. Mohammad Hafeez got out on the fourth delivery of the sixth over after scoring 29.

Zeeshan Ashraf produced another good partnership with Sohaib Maqsood for the second wicket stand. He lost his wicket for 46 in the 9th over when Tigers were 88.—APP

Previous articlePakistan can benefit from agricultural research in Ningxia
Next articleDSD athlete Masilingi into World U20s 100m final