Governor to administer oath to cabinet members today


The Punjab cabinet members will take oath today Saturday. According to detail Gover-nor Punjab Baligh ur Rehman, a PML-N loyalist, will administer oath to the newly elected Punjab cabinet.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has de-cided to improve working relationship with provin-cial governments in Punjab and KP led by Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI). Newly-appointed members of the Punjab Cabinet have been assigned portfolios by the Chief Minister Parvez Elahi on Thursday after Imran Khan approved their appointments.

According to details, the members of the Punjab cabinet, announced earlier today, have been assigned portfolios. The portfolios assigned to the cabinet members including Mohsin Laghari, Ministry of Finance, Taimoor Malik, Ministry of Sports, Raja Yasir, Ministry for Information Technology and Higher Education, Ansar Niazi, Minister of Labour, Raja Bisharat, Cooperative and prosecution Minister, Shahb-ud-Din: Livestock Minister, Muneeb Cheema, Ministry of Transport, Murad Raas, Ministry of Education, Yasmin Rashid, Ministry of Health and Khurrum Virk, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Hashim Dogar, Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Jail, Asif Nakki, Ministry of Excise and Taxation.

Earlier Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf chairman Imran Khan and Chief Minister Chaudhry Parvez Elahi on Thursday shortlisted 21 lawmakers to be taken in the first round of the Punjab cabinet, while ignoring PML-Q parliamentarians and some notables from the previous Usman Buzdar cabinet. The names finalised by Imran Khan were handed over to chief minister’s son MNA Moonis Elahi in a one-on-one meeting in Islamabad early on Thursday. PML-Q legislators to be inducted in second phase

“I met Imran Khan today and assured him that he has already made us Punjab chief minister and nothing further is required. He was gracious enough to allow cabinet slots in the second phase,” Moonis Elahi tweeted.

It is learnt that former chief minister Usman Buzdar has been named as parliamentary leader in the Punjab Assembly.

The PTI has offered finance portfolio to Mohsin Leghari; home and prisons department has been given under the control of retired Col Hashim Dogar; law and parliamentary affairs to Khurram Virk; Dr Yasmin Rashid has been retained as health minister, Raja Yasir Humayun as higher education and IT minister; Murad Raas as school education minister.


Previous articleIndia can’t suppress freedom spirit of Kashmiris: OPC commissioner
Next articleWalk held to denounce revocation of special status of IIOJ&K