Awards presented to more than 200 media persons


1st Media Awards 2022-23 launched

More than 200 journalists and media persons were presened awards during an award-giving ceremony held at the Rawalpinfi Arts Council (RAC) in recognition of their distinguished journalistic career. The award recipients included retired and working journalists, columnists, anchorpersons, photo journalists, radio and TV comperes, sub-editors and editors of different dailies The event was organized by convener of 1st Media Awards and well-known broadcaster, TV anchor and senior journalist Nasir Raja. Besides awards, Jinnah caps were also presented to the veteran journalists on the occasion. Senior leader of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Senator Taj Haider, ex-Naib Tehsil Nazim Sajjad Khan, President All Pakistan Overseas Youth Federation Asma Ismail, Director FM Dosti Radio Hu Pingping, Founder of Pakistan Association of Exhibition Industry (PAEI) Khurshid Barlas, noted social and political leader Jamshed Khan, organizer of cultural events and former bureaucrat Tayyib Khan, Executive Member of RCCI, Tariq Mughal, President of All Pakistan Akhbar Farosh Umion former Federal Minister Tikka Khan, former President PFUJ veteran journalist Nasir Zaidi, current President PFUJ Afzal Butt, President National Press Club (NPC) Anwar Raza, treasurer NPC Nayyir Ali, Dr Sadia Kamal, a large number of senior journalists attended the award-giving ceremony.

Besides the awards, music performances by young artists Rajia Iman and Hammad Raza also delighted the audience. According to some journalists who were in attendance the event provided them a rare chance to “meet and greet” old colleagues whom they had not met for a long time due to their professional engagements.

It was like a family festival and the credit for its success went to no one else but Nasir Raja, they held.