All set for by-election for NA-240 Korangi on June 16



All arrangements have been finalized in connection with the by-elections for the National Assembly constituency NA-240 Korangi, which became vacant due to the death of Iqbal Muhammad Ali Khan, scheduled to be held on June 16.

According to the Sindh Election Commission sources, the total numbers of registered voters in this constituency of National Assembly are 529,855 of which 235,470 are female and 294,385 are male voters.

A total 309 polling stations have been set up for by-elections out of which 203 are declared highly sensitive while 106 as sensitive.

Polling for the by-election will continue from 8 am to 5 pm without any break. The by-polls will be monitored by cameras at polling stations.

The arrangements have also been made for timely delivery of election material to the polling stations and transportation of the relevant staffers to be on duty on the day.

As many as 25 candidates are running for the by-polls on National Assembly seat (NA-240).


It is pertinent to mention here that in the 2018 general elections, Iqbal Muhammad Ali Khan of MQM won NA-240 by getting 61,165 votes while Muhammad Asif of TLP got 30,535 votes and Farrukh Manzoor of PTI got 29,000 votes.

Sindh Election Commissioner Ejaz Anwar Chauhan and Election Commissioner Karachi Syed Nadeem Haider have also met the district administration in Korangi to finalize by-polls arrangements on Monday.

Security plan for peaceful voting and security of ballot boxes have been prepared. The Sindh Rangers personnel will also be deployed on security duty along with the police on the occasion.