West Indies cricket team arrives in Karachi


The West Indian cricket team arrived in Karachi Thursday to play three T20Is and the same number of ODIs against Pakistan.

The West Indian cricketers and the team’s ad-ministration officials arrived in Karachi from Dubai, where samples for COVID-19 tests were taken.

Sources in the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said the cricketers will quarantine at the hotel till their coronavirus tests don’t come back negative.

The West Indies cricket team will play a T20 and ODI series in Pakistan. The first of the T20 matches between Pakistan and the West Indies will be played on December 13 at the National Stadium Karachi.

‘West Indies plans to fulfil its commitment’ Back in September, Cricket West Indies (CWI) Chief Executive Officer Johnny Grave said that the cricket body is planning to fulfil its tour commitments with all countries, including Pakistan.

“We intend to fulfil the responsibilities of tours,” he had reiterated. However, the CEO had added that the board will follow standard procedures.

This West Indian squad is somewhat under-strength, with regulars Evin Lewis, Shimron Het-myer, Andre Russell and Lendl Simmons all opting out for personal reasons.

Former skipper Jason Holder is being rested, while Fabian Allen and Obed McCoy are out because of injuries.

Last week, captain Kieron Pollard also withdrew through a hamstring injury, leaving the Twenty20 leadership to Nicholas Pooran and ODIs to Shai Hope.

Four players — Akeal Hosein, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes and Odean Smith — will join the team later on Thursday.

9 Dec – West Indies arrival in Karachi 13 Dec – 1st T20I, Karachi 14 Dec – 2nd T20I, Karachi 16 Dec – 3rd T20I, Karachi 18 Dec – 1st ODI, Karachi 20 Dec – 2nd ODI, Karachi 22 Dec – 3rd ODI, Karachi 23 Dec – Departure
T20I: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Rovman Powell
ODI: Shai Hope (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gu-dakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr, Devon Thomas.—Agencies

Previous articleLahore Open Polo Championship formally declared opened
Next articleLHC directs for foreign help to overcome smog