PML wins PK-63 Nowshera by-polls, says unofficial results

Voting for four seats in Punjab, KP continues in by-polls today

LAHORE – The PML-N won by-election in in PK-63 Nowshera, serving a setback to ruling PTI, according to unofficial results.

Earlier today, polling for four vacant national and provincial assembly seats in Sialkot, Gujranwala, Nowshera and Kurram was held. The vote count is underway in Sialkot, Gujranwala and Kurram.

PML-N’s Ikhtiyar Wali bagged 21,122 votes while PTI’s Mian Umar Kakakhel secured 17,023 votes in Nowshera by-election.

The seat fell vacant after the demise of former KP minister Mian Jamsheduddin Kakakhel. The PTI had picked his son Mian Umar Kakakhel as its candidate.

Final results for NA-75 Daska, PP-51 Wazirabad and NA-45 Kurram have not been announced.

Different incidents of violence were reported during polling, particularly in NA-75 Daska where two people were killed and several injured in firing incidents.

Syeda Nosheen Iftikhar of PML-N and Ali Asjad of PTI are vying for NA-75 Daska, formerly occupied by PML-N MNA Iftikharul Hassan Shah. Around 360 polling stations have been set up in the constituency and the total number of voters is 44,003.

PTI’s Fakharuz Zaman Bangash, JUI-F’s Jamil Khan, and independent candidate Haji Syed Jamal are expected to be major contestants for NA-45 seat that was vacated after the death of JUI-F MNA Munir Khan Orakzai. A total of 27 candidates are in the run-in NA-45.
In Kurram, 134 polling stations have been set up for 180,931 voters.

Previous articleFour soldiers killed in India border clash, China reveals for the first time
Next articlePM Imran visits Mianwali and Ghazi Barotha today to launch Spring Tree Plantation drive and inaugurate cricket stadium