PTI first opposition party to sweep by-polls


The Pakistan Tehreek e Insaaf (PTI) has become the first opposition party in the history of Punjab, which scored a landslide victory in the by-elections.

Of the 20 seats of Punjab Assembly, PTI won 15 as it defeated the turncoats who ditched it a few months ago when they crossed the floor and voted for Hamza Shehbaz Sharif in the chief minister’s election.

Many noted political figures, who once enjoyed perks and privileges as ministers, advisers in the cabinet of former CM Sardar Usman Buzdar and then voted for Hamza, were defeated by big margins include Zawar Warraich, Faisal Jaboana, Mehr Aslam, Saeed Niwani, Malik Nauman Langrial, Ajmal Cheema, Mian Khalid Mehmood.

Two former MNAs, including Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokher and Saif-ud-Din Khosa also emerged victorious while defeating PMLN candidates. Sitting MNA from Multan Makhdum Syed Zain Qureshi also avenged the defeat of his father Makhdum Shah Mehmood Qureshi in last general elections. He defeated Salman Naeem, the former PTI MPA of PP 217.


Previous articlePTI’s Punjab by-poll victory not something exceptional: Durrani
Next articleSteps being taken to improve medical centers: Admin East