President Alvi administers oath to Shibli, Tareen


ISLAMABAD – President Dr Arif Alvi on Saturday administered oath to the newly appointed federal ministers in a ceremony held at the Aiwan-e-Sadr.

Those who took oath of the office of their respective ministries included Shaukat Fayaz Tareen and Senator Shibli Faraz.

On Friday, Prime Minister Imran Khan reshuffled his cabinet, appointing  Shaukat Fayaz Tareen as Minister for Finance and Revenue while Senator Shibli Faraz was given the portfolio of Minister for Science and Technology.

Shaukat Tareen is the fourth finance minister appointed by the PTI government since it came into power in 2018 in latest shake-up in its economic team.

Tareen has replaced Hammaz Azhar, who remained finance minister only for 18 days. Previously, Asad Umar and Abdul Hafeez Shaikh had served in this position.

In the latest reshuffle, Hammad Azhar has been appointed as the Minister for Energy, replacing Omar Ayub while Khusro Bakhtiar has been given the charge of the Minister for Industries and Production.

The charge of Minister for Economic Affairs, which was previously held by Khusro Bakhtiar, has been given to Omar Ayub.

Previous articleTwitter again down in Pakistan, other countries
Next articleAre Sarah Khan, Falak Shabir expecting their first child?