New body of Sheikhupura Union of Journalists elected

Staff Reporter

Pakistan cannot revive true democracy in the country without freedom of press, said by newly-elected president of Sheikhupura Union of Journalists Mian Shabbir Hussain on Sunday.

He was speaking at a ceremony following the announcement election results held at SKP Press Club.

He called for unity of the journalist unions in the country for glory and welfare of journalism and journalists.

Other elected office bearers of the union of Journalists include: Chairman Raja Riaz Ahmed, Senior vice Chairman Tariq Khan, vice chairman Tariq Tabbasum, Chairman Executive Committee Nasir Mahmood Wattoo, senior vice chairman Zaheer Khan, and vice chairman Saadat Ali.

Other important office bearers include senior vice president Majid Gillani, vice president Rashid Jutt, general secretary Amjad Sultani, joint secretary Mehar Shabbir, Finance Secretary Mian Abdul Majeed, Additional Secretary Rana Babar, office secretary Tabish Junaid and coordinator Ghulam Muhammad Mughal. Members of the executive committee include Haji Yaseen, Sajid Khan, and Sajjad Sindhu.

Provincial minister Mian Khalid Mahmood, DC Asghar Joyia and DPO Ghulam Mubashar have also expressed good wishes for the newly-elected office-bearers of the union of journalists and hoped the new representatives will raise voice for the rights of the downtrodden segment of the society.