NA-249 Karachi by-poll: Close contest between PPP, PML- N

Staff Reporter

Counting at polling stations of the NA-249 Karachi constituency was underway, till the filing of this report. The results were gradually trickling in.

According to the unofficial, preliminary results, from 103 out of 276 polling stations, PPP’s Abdul Qadir Mandokhel was leading the race with 6,184 votes.

PML-N’s Miftah Ismail was in second place with 5,504 votes, while banned outfit TLP’s candidate Nazeer Ahmed was in third place with 4,767 votes.

PTI candidate Amjad Iqbal Afridi, after remaining in last place since voting first began, has climbed up to fourth place with 3,375 votes.

Former Karachi mayor and PSP candidate Mustafa Kamal was in fifth place with 3,375 votes, whereas MQM-P candidate Hafiz Muhammad Mursaleen has slid down to last place with 3,023 votes.