KCFR elects Khalid Mir as Chairman, Ikram Sehgal Patron in Chief


The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Karachi Council on Foreign Relation (KCFR) was held at a local club in Karachi. After the Secretary General’s and the Treasurer’s report, Chairman Ikram Sehgal concluded the meeting.

While all members of the Board of Governors (BOG) as well as other KCFR members put great pressure on Ikram Sehgal to continue for one more term, he stayed with his decision to step down to set a good precedent for the future. Ikram Sehgal profusely thanked all members for their tremendous support throughout the tenure of the outgoing BOG, in particular he praised that Secretary General Commodore Sadeed Malik for his outstanding work.

The elections were then conducted with Lt Gen Moinuddin Haider (former Chairman KCFR) as the Chief Election Commissioner. Since there were no other candidate the members unanimously elected Admiral Khalid Mir unopposed as the Chairman as well as all the candidates for office bearers. For his services to KCFR, outgoing Chairman Ikram Sehgal was then unanimously elected as the Patron-in-Chief of KCFR. Among these who participated in KCFR’s AGM and oversaw the elections were Admiral Shahid Karimullah, former Chief of Naval Staff, former Governor State Bank Dr Ishrat Hussain and former MNA Mr Khadim Ali Shah


Previous articleCity needs rainwater harvesting system
Next articleCity to receive heavy rain spell till July 26