Imran, Wali eying on for NA-24 Charsadda-II by election

Imran Khan terror case

Pakistan Tahrik e Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan and Awami National Party (ANP) Provincial President, Aimal Wali Khan are eying on the politically fertile national assembly constituency (NA-24) Charsadda-II scheduled on September 25.

Following completion of scrutiny of nomination papers of the nine candidates including PTI Chairman and former Prime Minister Imran Khan and ANP Provincial President Aimal Wali Khan by the returning officer, now all eyes are on NA-24 Charsadda-II where one-on-one contest is expected between them.

Aimal Wali Khan, who is the son of ANP President Asfandyar Wali Khan and a joint candidate of Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) is contesting by election for the first time for a national assembly seat from his hometown Charsadda and is likely to give tough time to PTI Chairman. History of the past elections revealed that ANP had won the constituency for record six times while JUIF three times and PTI only once.

During general elections held between 1970-2018, this constituency was won three times by ANP President Asfandyar Wali Khan, two times by Khan Abdul Wali Khan and once by Begium Nasim Wali Khan. JUIF’s Maulana Hassan Jan Shaheed had clinched victory in 1990 election and Maulana Gohar Shah won it two times while PTI’s Fazal Muhammad Khan one time in the last general election. In the 1970 election, ANP Chief Abdul Wali Khan emerged victorious after securing 34,359 votes while his wife Begium Nasim Wali Khan secured victory on the ticket of Pakistan National Alliance (PNA) with 48,653 votes during the 1977 election. Abdul Wali Khan had regained the seat in the 1998 election after obtaining 63,185 votes.

Previous articlePak Army rescue efforts under way in flood-hit areas
Next articleRain, thundershower expected