Govt forms commission to probe Shireen Mazari’s arrest


The federal government on Thursday notified a commission to probe the arrest of former federal minister and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Dr Shireen Mazari.

The nine-party coalition government has formed a three-member inquiry commission to probe the May 21 arrest of Mazari.

The notification, issued by Cabinet Division, was presented before Islamabad High Court (IHC) today. According to the notification, Justice (retd) Shakur Paracha will head the commission, while former Inspector-General (IG) Dr Naeem Khan and former secretary Saif Ullah Chattha will be part of the three-member probe commission.

It is pertinent to mention here that former Human Rights’ Minister Shireen Mazari was arrested by the police from outside her house on May 21.


Previous articleLHC suspends punishment of 19 TLP convicts
Next articleReagan’s shooter John released after 41 years