Dananjaya among four changes in Sri Lanka World T20 squad

Sports Desk

Sri Lanka have added spinner Akila Dananjaya, batter Pathum Nissanka, and seamers Lahiru Kumara and Binura Fernando to their revised 15-man squad for the Twenty20 World Cup, the country’s cricket board said on Sunday.

The quartet replaced all-rounders Lahiru Madushanka and Kamindu Mendis, spinner Praveen Jayawickrama and veteran fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep.

Madushanka missed out after fracturing his collarbone during the T20 International series against South Africa. Middle-order batter Kusal Perera, who was a major doubt due to a hamstring injury, made the final cut.

Sri Lanka, led by Dasun Shanaka, take on Namibia in their tournament opener in Abu Dhabi on Oct 18. Revised squad: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga.

Previous articleLankan lawyer continues his fight for fatherhood of DRS
Next articleFrance aces Mbappe Benzema show Spain what they lack