Australia thrash Bangladesh by 8 wickets, improve NRR over SA


Bangladesh were bowled out for 73 by Australia in their ICC T20 World Cup match on Thursday.

Sent into bat, Bangladesh lost wickets at regular intervals against a disciplined Australian attack in the day’s first Super 12 clash in Group 1. Leg-spinner Adam Zampa spun a web around the Bangladesh batters, finishing with excellent figures of 5/19 in four overs.

Brief scores: Bangladesh: 73 all out in 15 overs (Shamim Hossain 19; Adam Zampa 5/19, Josh Hazlewood 2/8).

Bangladesh XI: Mahmudullah (C), Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman and Shoriful Islam.

Australia XI: Aaron Finch (C), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood.—Agencies

Previous articleWe are not a bad team, says Rohit
Next articleExperts urge Pakistan to seek advisory opinion of ICJ on IOJK situation