7 submits nomination papers for NA-20 by-election

Akhunzada Fazle Haq

Seven candidates including a female have submitted nomination papers for the by-election of NA-20-Mardan-1 which will be held on 19th March. However no political activity is visible in the constituency for the upcoming by-election so far. This constituency was formally known as NA-11 Mardan-III. Total registered voters in this constituency are 508,248 including 227,199 female and 281,049 male voters.

This constituency is vacated after the resignation of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) member national assembly (MNA) Mujahid Ali. Total seven candidates including PTI Mujahid Ali, Mohammad Ishaq, Naeem Anwar, Abdul Samad, Mohammad Saeed Khankhal, Asfandyar and a female candidate Noreen Wadood have submitted nomination papers for the upcoming by elections. The national assembly constituency is included by different union councils of Tehsil Rustam, tehsil Katlang and tehsil Mardan.

Election commission has prepared a plan for the upcoming by-election in the NA-20. Election commission has established 366 polling stations including male 114, female 101 and 151 combined. Deputy Commissioner Abdur Rehman was nominated district returning officer (DRO), Zia-ur-Rehman district election commissioner was nominated as returning officer (RO).

A district monitoring team was also established for the by-election including RPO Mardan range Mohammad Ali Khan, Commissioner, Deputy Commissioner Abdur Rehman, DPO Haroon-ur-Rashid, TMO Rustam and other officials.