Trump signs new travel ban order, Iraq left off


United States President Donald Trump signed a revised executive order for a travel ban on Monday, leaving Iraq off the list of targeted countries, after his controversial first attempt was blocked in the courts, senior administration officials said.
The new order, which the White House said Trump had signed, will keep a 90-day ban on travel to the US by citizens of six Muslim-majority nations – Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen, the officials said. White House spokeswoman Sarah Huckabee Sanders had said earlier on Monday that the new order would take effect on March 16.
The new directive delays implementation to limit the disruption that created havoc for some travellers when Trump issued his original order. Trump had said the restrictive order is necessary to ensure domestic security.
His secretary of state, Rex Tillerson, told reporters on Monday, “As threats to our security continue to evolve and change, common sense dictates that we continually re-evaluate and reassess the systems we rely upon to protect our country.” Iraq was taken off the list in the original order, which was issued on Jan 27, because the Iraqi government has imposed new vetting procedures, such as heightened visa screening and data sharing, and because of its work with the US in countering militant Islamic State group fighters, a senior White House official said.—Reuters

Share this post

    scroll to top