Top seed Aqeel opens Subh-e-Nau C’ship campaign with easy win

Islamabad—Top seed Aqeel Khan exhibited excellence to begin his journey on second day of Subh-e-Nau National Clay Court Tennis Championship 2016 here at PTF Complex Tennis Courts on Tuesday.
Aqeel overpowered his opponent Abbas Khan without any noted resistance in opening match of the first round of Men’s Singles.
Muzammil Murtaza showed his talent against Syed Nofil Kaleem in a match which lasted for more than two hours in scorching heat.
Nofil won well contested first set but could not finish the match on winning note as Muzammil played with exceptional skill and spirit to clinch the tie. Mudassar also faced stiff resistance from his opponent Ahmed Babar before moving to second round of the category.
Other players, who reached second round of Men’s Singles include Abdal Haider, Huzaifa Abdul Rehman, Yasir Khan, Babar Ali Akbar, Usman Rafique, Shaheen Mehmood, Raja Shahid, Shehzad Khan, Heera Ashiq, Aman Atique, Shahid Afridi and M. Abid.
Interesting contests were witnessed in first round of the Boys U-18.
Shoaib Khan, Kashan Umar, Saqib Umar, Aman Atique, Ihtesham Abbasi, Aqib Umar, Asadullah, Yousuf Khan, Farhanullah, Syed Nofil Kaleem and Yasir Manzoor moved to second round of the category. Boys U-14 matches could not be completed due to dust-storm on Tuesday afternoon.
Second round matches of Mens Singles, Boys U-18 and Boys U-14 while first round matches of Ladies Singles and Mens Doubles will be played on Wednesday.
Results Day two Men’s Singles (first round) Aqeel Khan bt Abbas Khan 6-0, 6-1, Abdal Haider bt Kashanul Haq 6-0, 6-2, Huzaifa Abdul Rehman bt Malik Hamza 6-1, 6-3, Mudassar Murtaza bt Ahmed Babar 7-6(3), 6-3, Yasir Khan bt Shehzad PAF 6-3, 6-0, Babar Ali Akbar bt Usman Ijaz 7-6(2), 7-5, Usman Rafique bt Shakirullah 6-2, 6-3, Muzammil Murtaza bt Syed Nofil Kaleem 5-7, 6-4, 6-3, Shaheen Mehmood bt Saqib Umar 6-2 6-3, Raja Shahid bt Asadullah 6-0, 6-0, Shehzad Khan bt Haris Irfanul Haq 6-2, 6-2, Heera Ashiq bt Barkatullah 6-2, 6-1, Aman Atiq bt Jibarnul Haq 6-4, 6-0, Shahid Afridi bt Ijaz Ahmed 6-1, 6-3, Muhammad Abid bt Irfanullah 6-2, 6-2, Arham Atique bt Waqas Malik 7-6(4), 6-1 Boys U-18 (First round) Shoaib Khan w/o Mujahid Zaib, Kashan Umar bt M. Abdullah 6-4, 7-6(5), Saqib Umar bt Abdul Wahab Anwar 6-1, 6-1, Aman Atiq bt Nalain Abbas 6-1, 6-2, Ihtesham Abbasi bt Ubaidullah 6-1, 6-2, Aqib Umar bt Haseebullah 6-3, 6-3, Asadullah w/o Ilham Khan , Yousuf Khan w/o Hafiz Arbab Ali , Farhanullah bt Hamza Khalid 6-2, 6-3, Syed Nofil Kaleem w/o Waleed Anwar, Yasir Manzoor w/o Abdullah Tayyab, Abdullah Adnan bt Bilal Kabir 6-0, 6-1, Barkatullah bt Ahmed Kamil 6-0, 6-0, Haris Irfanulhaq w/o Syed Muhammad Ahmed Boys U-14 (first round) Roman Gul bt Jasir Manzoor 3-5, 5-3, 5-3.—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top