Third monsoon spell expected from today

Islamabad—Third spell of monsoon rains is likely to lash various parts of the country from today (Monday), which will continue till Thursday.
According to Pakistan Meteorological Department (PMD), widespread rain/dust-thunderstorms with isolated heavy falls accompanied by windstorm are expected in Islamabad, upper Punjab at Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Lahore, Sargodha and Faisalabad divisions, Hazara, Peshawar and Mardan in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Kashmir, while at scattered places in Malakand, Kohat, Bannu, D.I. Khan, Sibbi, Naseerabad, Sahiwal, Multan, D.G. Khan, Bahawalpur and lower Sindh during next four days.
A PMD official told APP that Saturday’s well-marked low pressure area (LPA) over northeast Madhya Pradesh now lay over central parts of north Madhya Pradesh (India) and was likely to move further westward in next 24 hours.
Under the influence of this LPA, more monsoon incursion was very likely in Pakistan during the coming days, he said, adding that a fresh westerly wave was also likely to approach during mid of coming week.
He said,”Seasonal low lies over north Balochistan while a shallow westerly wave is still affecting upper parts of the country and likely to persist during next 24 hours. Monsoon currents from Arabian sea are continuously penetrating central and upper parts of the country and likely to continue during next couple of days.”
During last 24 hours rain/ dust-thundershower occurred at isolated places in Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Lahore, Sargodha, Faisalabad, Hazara, Malakand, Sukkar, Hyderabad, Quetta divisions and Kashmir, whereas hot and humid conditions continued in other parts of the country.
Rainfall recorded during this time span was Okara 32mm, D.G. Khan 23mm, M. B. Din 12mm, Faisalabad, Mangla 11mm, Lahore A/P, Jhang 09mm, Lahore city, Kot addu, Gujranwala 07mm, Sialkot A/P 06mm, Murree 05, T.T. Singh 04, Sahiwal 03, Sialkot Cantt, Jhelum 01mm, Parachinar 15mm, Kakul 12mm, Balakot 10mm, Kalam 04mm, Garhi Dupatta 14mm, Muzaffarabad 02mm Barkhan 47mm, Sh. Benazirabad 04mm, Jacobabad 03mm, Rohri 02mm and Thatta 01mm.—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top