Sarfaraz Bugti bags vacated Senate seat

Staff Reporter


Balochistan Awami Party’s Sarfaraz Bugti emerged victorious in the poll for the vacated Senate seat taking place on Wednesday.
Bugti bagged 37 votes, while Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal’s Rehmatullah Kakar secured 20 votes.
The polling process started at 9am on Wednesday and continued till 4pm, while the results were announced by provincial Election Commissioner Niaz Ahmed Baloch, who was performing the duties of the returning officer.
The first vote for the Senate election was cast by BAP’s Dinesh Kumar. Chief Minister Balochistan Jam Kamal Khan also cast his vote during the election. BAP’s Sarfaraz Bugti, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal’s Rehmatullah Kakar, along with two independent candidates contested the elections for the vacated Senate seat.The two independent candidates who contested the poll included Ghulam Dastagir Badini and former caretaker chief minister Allauddin Marri. Amir Rind withdrew from the election prior to the start of polling. BNP-Mengal also voted for the MMA candidate.
The provincial Senate seat was vacated after Mir Naimatullah Zehri resigned, after securing victory in the general elections.

Share this post

    scroll to top