Salaries of MPs raised

Nation will bear additional burden of Rs400m

Zahid Chaudhary

Islamabad—A meeting of federal cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif approved increase in salaries of Chairman Senate, Speaker National Assembly, Deputy Chairman Senate, Deputy Speaker National Assembly and Members of Parliament.
Later, briefing newsmen, Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Marriyum Aurangzeb said the increase will be effective from first of October this year and its annual impact would be 400 million rupees.
The Minister of State said despite increase, the salaries of MPs would be less than those of the Members of the Provincial Assembly of Balochistan.
Speaking in the National Assembly and the Senate, Finance Minister Ishaq Dar said the salaries of parliamentarians have been increased with effect from October 1, 2016.
The minister said he had fulfilled his commitment made in the National Assembly during the budget session that salaries of the parliamentarians would be revised once the Prime Minister returned from London after heart surgery.
Dar said with revision, the basic salary of a senator and member of the National Assembly would be Rs 150,000, Senate Chairman and NA Speaker Rs 200,500, and Senate Deputy Chairman and NA Deputy Speaker Rs 185,000.
Similarly, he said the basic salary of a federal minister would be Rs 200,000 and minister of state Rs 180,000. The minister said the provision for salary raise was incorporated in the Finance Bill 2016-17.
Meanwhile, the Cabinet strongly condemned unprovoked Indian firing on the Line of Control and condoled with the families of the martyrs.
She said the Prime Minister formed a Committee, headed by Federal Minister Khawaja Saad Rafiq, to propose amendments in PEPRA rules to update them and make them transparent. Members of the Committee include Federal Ministers Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Zahid Hamid and Qadir Baloch besides Finance Secretary.
The Minister of State said the Cabinet empowered Ministry of Health to procure vaccine for immunization without following PEPRA rules but with the prior approval of UNICEF and the Government.
She said the draft agreements approved by the cabinet include those with Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Malaysia and Maldives.
The Cabinet approved extension in stay of Afghan refugees till December next year.
The cabinet also decided to circulate decisions of the Economic Coordination Committee of the Cabinet among different ministries and divisions to ensure their expeditious implementation, coordination and transparency.

Share this post

    scroll to top