Prominent personalities cast vote in their constituencies


Several prominent personalities including CJP, politicians, retired generals on Wednesday cast their vote in Lahore. Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar on Wednesday cast his vote in NA-130 constituency. The CJP cast his vote at polling station set up at Government Model Girls High School, Barkat Market here. On the occasion, the chief justice said that he had fulfilled his promise of holding elections in time. He also expressed satisfaction over polling arrangements.
Former Punjab chief minister Shehbaz Sharif was among the first people to cast his vote. He voted in NA-130 constituency of Lahore where Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Khawaja Hassan and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Shafqat Mehmood are in tough contest. His mother voted in Islamia College of Lahore.
Former Chief of Army Staff General (Retired) Raheel Sharif cast his vote at Junior Model School Cantt here on Wednesday afternoon. He waited for his turn by standing in the queue of voters before casting his vote. Later,the former COAS mingled with citizens over there. Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) senior leader and former federal minister Khawaja Saad Rafique cast his vote in a Cantt area polling station in his constituency NA-131. Talking to media after casting vote on Wednesday, Saad Rafique said that PTI chairman was master of U-turns and ideological workers of the PTI were disappointed due to his U-turns. He said that a good number of voters had been queued outside the polling stations whereas the polling process was slow, adding that voters would return to their homes without casting their votes, if process was not expedited.
The Caretaker Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Syed Ali Zafar cast his vote at a polling station in Johar Town in NA-135 constituency here Wednesday.
Ignoring all protocol, the Information minister queued up among other voters to wait for his turn to enter the polling station. He also deposited his mobile phone to the security staff in the general elections 2018.
Ali Zafar talked to the voters inside the polling station and admired their enthusiasm for the elections.
Pakistan Muslim League-N, National Assembly Speaker, Ayaz Sadiq Wednesday cast his vote in Garhi Shahu, Lahore and expressed hope his party will win the election with majority.
Talking to media after casting his vote, Ayaz Sadiq said he has to wait for half an hour for casting vote and it would have been better if some additional staff members are deputed to assist polling team.
The former speaker also raised objections over baring media entry to the polling stations and said media should have been allowed to present exact picture of what is going on inside polling stations to the masses. Ayaz Sadiq said those who are misleading the nation through spreading wrong information will bear the brunt. Pakistan Peoples Party senior leader and candidate from NA-132 former federal minister Samina Khalid Ghurki cast her vote at Padhana polling station on Wednesday.—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top