PP-7 today’s by-polls arrangements finalised

Islamabad—The arrangements for holding free , fair and transparent by elections in PP-07 Taxila (Rawalpindi VII) on Monday has been finalized by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP). The seat had been fallen vacant due to the death of Muhammad Siddique Khan, a member of Punjab Assembly of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf. In general Elections of 2013, Siddique Khan had defeated Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan by thin margin.
District Coordination officer has already announced local holiday in Taxila and adjacent areas to enable voters to use their right to franchise in hassle free manner. Government and private educational institutes would remain closed in the district, however district courts would remain open on Monday. According to the schedule, polling will start at 8 am on Monday and will continue till 5 pm without any break.
As many as 167 polling stations have been set- up in the constituency. A total of 2,000 police officers will be deployed in the constituency to provide security to voters. The contingents of Elite force will also be deployed to ensure free, fair and transparent elections.
The training of polling staff has already been completed. Haji Malik Muhammad Umer Farooq of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) and Ammar Siddique Khan of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Chaudhary Kamran Aslam of Pakistan People’s Party are in the run.—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top