PM’s Special Committee for artists’ welfare meets today

The first meeting of special committee formed by Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif to prepare effective recommendations for the welfare of artists working in different sections of Fine Arts will be held on March 7 at Lahore.
The committee is headed by Adviser to Prime Minister on National History and Literary Heritage (NHLH), Irfan Siddiqui while Secretary NHLH Division, Aamir Hasan will act as Secretary of the committee.
The other members of the committee included Chairman Pakistan Television, Atta-ul-Haq Qasmi, prominent artists Zeba Muhammad Ali, Laila Zubairi, Suhail Ahmad Azizi and Master Pervez Haider, Director General, Pakistan National Council of the Arts (PNCA), Jamal Shah, Film Producers Syed Noor and Ejaz Ahmad Gul and Violin player,Ustad Raees.
The committee will review the existing schemes for the welfare of artists’ community.
It will also look into the issues being faced by the artists under federal and provincial governments and incorporate its suggestion based on analysis in the above mentioned report. The committee is mandated to prepare comprehensive proposals and recommendations regarding new schemes for the welfare of artists.
The 12-member committee is directed to present its report to the Prime Minister within a month’s time.
Talking to APP, Adviser to Prime Minister on NHLH, Irfan Siddiqui said artists who dedicate their whole lives for art deserve recognition and patronage from the government.—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top