PHC upholds ECP decision to de-seat DN, 21 others

Abdul Khaliq Qureshi


Double bench of Peshawar High Court has upheld the decision of Election Commission of Pakistan on Thursday and had de-seated the District Nazim Abbottabad Sardar Sher Bahadar with 21 other members of District Council Abbottabad, Tehsil Council Abbottabad and Havelian. Sardar Sher Bahadar and others who were earlier de-seated by ECP had filed writ petition before Peshawar High Court‘s Abbottabad Circuit Bench on November 02,2016 who after initial arguments had restored the Abbottabad district Nazim by suspending the orders of the Election Commission of Pakistan to de-seat him.
Case was trialed in Abbottabad bench and later after finding similar type petitions of other districts, case was transferred to Peshawar bench where almost 10 similar cases were contested by different petitioners and ten days back, hearing was completed and judgment was reserved by the double bench comprises of Justice Rooh-ul-Amin Khan and Justice Syed Afsar Shah who today rejected the writ field by the Sardar Sher Bahadar.
It should be placed on record that Sardar Sher Bahadar, PTI‘s former district president, had contested the LG elections as an independent candidate after PTl refused to award him a ticket. He after winning the seats contested the election of district Nazim against the nominee of PTI Ali Khan Jadoon and won the district Nazim slot with the support of PML (N) members despite the fact that in house, PTI was in majority but the nominee of PTI Ali Khan lost the contest.

Share this post

    scroll to top