Pemra chief asks housing societies to ban Indian DTH inside their premises

National Press Club to get its own FM Radio

Zubair Qureshi

Islamabad—Chairman Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) Absar Alam on Monday announced awarding of an FM Radio channel for the National Press Club saying it will help the club carry out its activities and keep its members as well as the public abreast of latest happenings. The radio licence is being awarded to the National Press Club Trust and it is hoped journalists would benefit from it across the country as it is ‘National Press Club’, he said.
He was addressing a press conference on the successful conclusion of the award of over 50 FM radio licences and listing of 12 companies for Pakistani DTH service licences. Absar Alam termed it an historic day as Pakistani people would now enjoy their own Pakistani content instead of the illegal Indian content. Absar Alam referred to overwhelming response by the public with regard to ban on Indian illegal content.
The ban was and is necessary as the Indian army continues to violate the Line of Control and even at this time when I am addressing this press conference they have killed our seven soldiers, said Absar.
“No patriotic Pakistan can imagine seeing Indian content under such circumstances,” he said and hoped those few handful elements that are still resisting ban on Indian content will give up doing so. “I call upon the housing societies, cantonment boards, residents of the posh areas like DHAs, Clifton, E-7 and F-6, 7 sectors of Islamabad to make bylaws and ensure complete ban on Indian content,” said Absar Alam.
About the successful bidding of the FM radio in the smaller cities, Absar Alam said letters have been written to the departments concerned to expedite their security clearance. About the shortlisted companies for Nov 23 final award of Pakistani DTH licences, he said a total of 16 applicants were there but four of them were dropped out due to various reasons like incomplete form etc. the remaining twelve entrants are: M/s Orient Electronics, M/s Mag Entertainment, M/s Skyflix (Pvt), M/s Startimes Communications, M/s Sardar Builders, M/s Smart Sky Pvt, M/s Parus Media, M/s Naya Tel, M/s Mastro Media, M/s Shahzad Sky, M/s HB DTH Pvt and M/s IQ Communications Pvt.
He said initially three licences would be awarded to the highest bidders among them.

Share this post

    scroll to top