Nisar guides Khyber Green to win first FATA Super League T20 Cricket title



Muhammad Nisar and Saeed Khan guided Khyber Green to six wickets victory against Kurram Golloona of Khyber Agency in the final of the first FATA Super League Twenty20 Cricket Tournament played at Jamrud Sports Complex, Khyber Agency on Thursday.
Muhammad Nisar and Saeed gave up a 96 runs partnership for the fourth wickets before the openers tumbled down quickly in front of excellent bowling of Khurram Golloona (Flowers) bowlers. Muhammad Nisar hammered a cracking half-century (58), laced with seven boundaries and one six while another Saeed made 38 runs including five boundaries and one six.
Muhammad Nisar, who was also declared as Man of the Match, played a key role in his team victory by controlling the batting line up along with Saeed and another dashing batsman Asad Afridi who made 22 runs with four boundaries.
Earlier, Khurram Golloona skipper Muhammad Iftikhar won the toss and elected to bat first. The two Test cricketers Muhammad Iftikhar and Muhammad Rizwan provided Khurram Golloona (Flowers) of Khurram Agency a stand of 82 runs partnership for the fourth wickets before the openers gone early.
Muhammad Iftikhar hammered a cracking captain knock of 52 runs with seven boundaries and one six while Muhammad Rizwan struck another quick-fire 32 runs with five boundaries. Akram made 16 runs, none of the other batsmen could cross the double figures. Thus Khurram Golloona (Flowers) setup 168 runs for the loss of six wickets. Star of the day Asif Afridi claimed four wickets, Zulkarnain got one wicket while one got run-up. In reply, Khyber Green, a team winner of the National Twenty20 Champion, chased the target fort the loss of four wickets after playing 19.2 overs. Muhammad Nisar made an elegant knock of 58 runs with seven boundaries, Saeed scored 38 runs with five boundaries and Asad scored 22 runs. For Khyber Green International bowler Muhammad Khalil took two wickets.
At the end, Governor KP Engr. Zafar Iqbal Jhagra was the chief guest on this occasion who gave away trophies and cash prizes. MNA Shahji Gul, other FATA parliamentarians, PA Khyber, international cricketers, and large number of spectators were also present.
Addressing the gathering Governor KP, Engr. Iqbal Zafar Jhagra said that youth are the future builders and a precious asset of the nation and we all are duty bound to ensure their proper education and training to enable them play their due role in development of the country.
Governor KP Engr. Iqbal Zafar Jhagra said: “Such events pave ways to generating positive thinking amongst youth and help in utilizing. While referring to the overall security atmosphere in FATA, the Governor said, the law and order situation has been significantly improved and the country was heading towards attainment of peace and stability. The incumbent govt is taking keen interest in promoting sports activities in FATA and my presence at this occasion is the vital proof of it,” he added.
Moreover, the Governor said that besides strengthening the basic education and health facilities in FATA, promoting sports activities is the top most priority of the incumbent government. While highlighting the importance of sports, the Governor said, games play an important role in maintaining a healthy mind, body and soul and foster the spirit of friendship and cooperation among the players.
Those who play games have a cool and pleasant temper as compared to others, he remarked. He also urged the FATA people to take part in healthy activities like sports and education for ensuring peace and prosperity in their respective areas.
Finally the Governor gave away prizes and trophies to the players of both the winner and runner up teams which also included cash award of Rs 0.2 million and Rs 0.1 million. The winner also awarded Rs 0.6 million as cash prize while the runners-up got Rs 0.3 million.
Muhammad Nisar was declared as Man of the Match and was awarded Rs 10,000 while Muhammad Iftikhar was declared Man of the Tournament by hitting two centuries and as many 50s.
Besides Rizwan, Iftikhar, and Khalil, other international cricketers comprising Imran Farhat, Hamayun Farmat, Imran Nazeer, Rifat Ullah Mohmand, Muhamad Talha, Yasir Ali, Riaz Afridi, Adil Amin were also part of all the 24 teams part of the FSL, Haji Taimur Afridi, Chairman FSL told APP. He said it is the biggest event of FATA history and visit of the international players.—APP

Share this post

    scroll to top