Nadra issues special NICs to disabled persons

Islamabad—The Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs met in the Parliament House on Friday under the Chairmanship of Mian Abdul Mannan, MNA.
The Committee members were apprised by the Additional Secretary, Election Commission of Pakistan with regard to the proposed amendment in section 29, 51 of ROPA. He said that 190000 persons are disabled in the country as per NADRA record, whom NADRA has issued special Identity Cards with symbol of disability. He added that draft unified laws has been proposed by the Sub Committee on electoral reforms in this regard wherein, the disable persons may be given right to use postal ballot in an election with the criteria that a person having any disability, which would be shown in his/her CNIC issued by NADRA. Dr. Nikhat Shakeel Khan, MNA mover of the Bill requested the Committee that subject Bill may be pended till the finalization of electoral reforms unified laws.
The Committee members were informed by the Secretary, Civil Aviation that PIA staff has already been directed for providing facility to use the air tickets for Parliamentarian’s families and dependents. However, it was unanimously decided that honorable Parliamentarians will furnish their request on personal letterhead.
While considering the matter with regard to enhancement of salaries, the Committee members were apprised by the Additional Secretary, Ministry of Finance & Revenue. He said that Finance Division has already moved a summary for the Cabinet, suggesting further rationalization through upward revision of basic pays of the public Representatives/ Parliamentarians.
However, the decision of the Cabinet is still awaited in this regard. The Members of the Committee were of the opinion that members salaries package should be considered according to the warrant of precedent, column 16. After detailed discussion on the matter the Committee recommended to Ministry of Finance to expedite the matter with Cabinet Division for an early response.
The meeting was attended by Sardar Muhammad Afzal Khan Dhandla, Mr. Azhar Qayyum Nahra, Mr. Rasheed Ahmad Khan, Ms. Arifa Khalid, Ms. Belum Hasnain, Ms. Shahida Rehmani, Dr. Shazia Sobia, Ms. Ms. Saman Sultana Jafri, Malik Ihtebar Khan, Ms. Shazia Mubashar, Dr. Nikhat Shakeel Khan (Mover), MNAs and besides senior officers from Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, ECP, Ministry of Finance & Ministry of Law.—NNI

Share this post

    scroll to top